BRAVO to all the LMGI members & sponsors who worked so hard to put on such a great show Saturday night. Kudos to Co-chairs Robin Citrin /LMGI and Lori Balton/LMGI.  David Doumeng/LMGI was indeed the host with the most and, if he ever gives up his day job, truly has a second career in standup.  It was amazing to have so many great directors and talent on hand to celebrate our craft. It was great to see both old and new friends, from all over the world. I was finally able to catch up with LMGI members from New Orleans, New York, New Mexico & Boston.

Robbie Boake/LMGI & Tate Araez flew in from Europe to take home the award for “Outstanding Locations in a Period Television Series” for Game of Thrones. Marco Giacalone/LMGI took time from his worldwide scouting tour for Season 2 of Sense8 to accept his award for “Outstanding Locations in a Contemporary Television Series” for Sense8, Season 1. Markus Bensch and Klaus Darrelmann/LMGI, nominated for Bridge of Spies, flew in from Germany,  Brazilian Daniel Fontoura joined Sean Alquist in accepting the award for “Outstanding Locations in a Commercial.”  Canadian LMGI members Matt Palmer & Rob Hilton nominated for Fargo flew in for the event to watch Christopher Guest present fellow Canadians Robin Mounsey & Bruce Brownstein/LMGI the award for “Outstanding Locations in a Period Film” for their work in The Revenant.


Director Michael Mann gave a heartfelt speech  presenting the Lifetime
Achievement Award to his favorite location manager Janice Polley/LMGI. Ilt Jones/LMGI and Amy Lemisch were on hand to present Hollywood Teamsters CEO Steve Dayan with the Trailblazer Award, and Jeff Goldblum accepted the Eva Monley Award on behalf of Director Wes Anderson. Goldblum remarked on the amazing sense of community in the room.  Anderson was on location but sent a prerecorded thank you, acknowledging the importance of locations in his movies.  It was lovely to hear Humanitarian award recipients Amy Brennenman & Brad Silberling talk a little about giving back as a part of a lifestyle.


For those who couldn’t make it the awards went to:

Outstanding Commercial:  Sean Alquist, Art Chalermphan, Daniel Fontoura &
Jikesh Shah –Chevy Anthem
Outstanding Period TV:  Robbie Boake/LMGI & Tate Araez – Game of Thrones,
season 5
Outstanding Contemporary TV:  Marco Giacalone/LMGI & Bill Bowling/LMGI –
Sense8, Season1
Outstanding Period Film: Robin Mounsey & Bruce Brownstein/LMGI- The
Outstanding Contemporary Film: S. Todd Christiansen/LMGI & Shani Orona/LMGI
Outstanding Film Commission: FilmLA

Hope to see you all again next year!

~ Stevie Nelson/LMGI, Membership Chairperson