Location Managers Now Eligible for Membership in The Television Academy

The Television Academy announced today that Location Professionals who qualify are now eligible for either Active or Associate membership in the Television Academy’s newly formed Location Managers Subgroup within the Producers Peer Group. Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) 1st Vice President J.J. Levine and President John Rakich have led the charge for this successful mission on behalf of location professionals around the world.

“Location Managers play an integral role in the production, the look, logistics and on-set oversight of producing a television show, and they are a welcome addition to the Producers Peer Group,” said Peer Group Governor Tony Carey.

“These creative and collaborative professionals are indispensable to our business, and will bring valuable insight to the Academy,” added Peer Group Governor Keith Raskin.

“Opening the door to membership in the Television Academy has been a goal of the LMGI,” said Levine. “Since its inception, the LMGI has been working to bring recognition to the creative contributions and the role of Location Professionals – members and non-members alike – in filmmaking for the large and small screens.”

“This is a milestone moment, not just for the LMGI, but for all Location Professionals to be recognized as creative contributors within the Television Academy, especially now with the wealth of incredible content being made,” said Rakich. “Today we celebrate the synergistic and collaborative relationships that Location Professionals have with Producers to create exceptional storytelling on an international scale.”

LMGI members who laid the early groundwork for this achievement include Chair Emeritus Orin Kennedy, LMGI Founder Beth Tate, Kokayi Ampah, Diane Friedman and Stevie Nelson.

The Academy is now accepting applications for the new subgroup, and for those now eligible to become active members. Applications and requirements can be found here.

About the Television Academy

The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. Through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation, it strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space. And it celebrates those who have excelled by recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television’s most coveted prize, the Emmy® Award. For more information, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com.

Follow LMGI on  Facebook; Twitter @thelmgi, #LMGIawards, Instagram and YouTube.


Cheri Warner l Rick Markovitz

Weissman/Markovitz Communications (for the LMGI)

cheri@publicity4all.com | rick@publicity4all.com


Stephanie Goodell

breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)